A new branch of Maplins has opened in the town next door so I don’t have to make the 1 1/2 hr round trip anymore to get some electronics! 

Being its grand opening, I popped into get some Raspberry pi bits and walked out with the bits + a free catalogue and 1 GIG usb drive. 

One of the items I picked up was the Slice of Pi/o. I got the thing home, dug out the soldering iron and got to work. It was an easy affair to assemble however the software side was a pain to get working. The instructions were fine until I got to.

i2cdetect -y 1,

And got the dreaded

Could not open file 

Well, not alot is available on this issue and in the end, all I needed was to do the sudo halt and restart routine 3 times to get it to work!

So I got it running, now i just need to learn how to use the pi.

