PSP 110 Battery Revive.

Well After a bit of soldering and electronics jiggery pokery my PSP 110 battery is charging.

The internals of the PSP 110 battery

No wonder it failed when it was soldered like that.

 

This picture showing the internals of the battery including the Charge control and monitor board. By my guess the way the B+ terminal was soldered may have been responsible for it failing. I disconnected the battery from the pcb and checked the terminals to find they were reading 0.2 ish volts showing a dead cell. After cobbling a batter charger together to charge at 2.3v with very little milliamp’s and leaving it on for 11 hrs, I checked the cell voltage a various times to find it slowly climbing until it reached 2.3v.

Fearing it left on over night I disconnected the battery and charge and left it. The next morning I checked the voltage to find it still holding 2.3 v (2.34 v to be exact). I re-soldered the contacts (properly this time) popped it into my spare PSP 1003 to charge and now the charge light is on.

The only problem with this method is the pcb now no longer reads the charge rate properly! I hope that after continual charging and discharging it will recalibrate it’s self or I may have to find a way to reset the regulator board.

I hope others with this issue find it useful.

つづく

